Ready to head to driving instructor training and become a driving instructor in Vermont?
Vermont is the fifth smallest state in the union, and has the second fewest people (only Wyoming has fewer), but it still needs certified driving instructors! To become an instructor in Vermont, unless you are teaching drivers ed through a high school, must be licensed through the Vermont DMV. School licensing is also done through the Vermont DMV.
In Vermont, if you have your teaching credentials from the Vermont Board of Education, you can teach driving without going through driving instructor training, but you must teach through a DoE certified program at a local high school. If you are not a teacher, read on!
First, here’s a link to the application to become a driving instructor in Vermont. You can fill out and printout the PDF file right in your web browser. Also click here for a link of driving instructor training courses in Vermont. You will need to complete an approved course at one of those colleges or credentialing programs prior to becoming licensed to teach driving.
Basic requirements for driving instructors in Vermont:
- You mush have never been convicted of a felony within 10 years of applying
- Must be at least 21 years of age and had a valid drivers license for at least 5 years
- Pass a physical examination administered by a licensed physician
- Pass a written examination that will include testing your knowledge on laws, defensive driving principles, operating a car, and teaching tactics.
Additional requirement for driving instructors in Vermont:
- Answers to the following may prevent you from being hired, depending on the commissioners ruling on your application:
- You must be up to date on all taxes due to the State of Vermont
- You must be up to date on any child support payments
- You must be up to date on any court-imposed fines.
- You must explain why (if) your drivers license has ever been suspended, either in Vermont or another state
- You must explain why (if) you have ever been convicted of a felony in any state or a misdemeanor in any state
- You must explain why (if) you have been licensed as a driving instructor before, and why that license was revoked.
Cost to become a driving instructor in Vermont:
- Driving instructor licensing application fee: $70.00
- Upon acceptance of your application, a one time license fee is due: $50
- Renewals also cost $50 with no licensing fee
- Additional costs may be incurred for the driving instructor training course put on by an approved certification program
Some Frequently Asked Questions:
Can I start a driver’s education program in Vermont?
You also must be licensed by the Vermont DMV. Here is a link to that application
Here is the address, for the State of Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles:
120 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05603